Barry in IN

Cast Bullets in the M1941

8 posts in this topic

I thought others might be curious about using cast bullets in the Johnson semi-auto rifle. I'm no expert on either Johnsons or cast bullets, but thought I'd share what I have found in recent experiments.

I know this is long, but since cast bullets are so far from the norm with these rifles, I was afraid to shorten it up and leave something important out.

I only recently started seriously messing around with cast bullets in rifles. In fact, aside from some cast loads in my 45-70 rifles, I've never shot any cast bullet loads in rifles until a couple of months ago.

I have never casted a single bullet of my own (but am accumulating the things to start).

I'm saying all of this to make it clear that I'm not one of those hardcore cast bullet guys who shoots cast in everything and has a bunch of top secret voodoo magic formulas to make cast bullets shoot well.

I just tried cast bullets in my M1941 Johnson out of curiosity.

While I know people do it, I had not considered shooting cast bullets through any semiauto, let alone a Johnson.

Until...

When I got my JSAR's barrel back from Joseph Scott, the new parkerizing made it fit tight in the radiator and action. I'm not complaining, but rather, I was pretty happy since it snugged all of it up a little. The parkerizing at the wear/contact points smoothed up soon, so it fit really well.

On that first trip to range, I could work the barrel back and forth by hand, but the barrel latch's spring would not quite return it forward on it's own. The only ammo I brought was loaded with 147 grain FMJs, but the powder charge was a little on the light side. In addition, Mr Scott had installed a new main (recoil) spring, so it was at full strength. I had little hope it would work, between the tight fit, new spring, and using light ammo, but decided to shoot it to start wearing it in.

It worked just fine.