dtw99

New Serial Information

5 posts in this topic

I acquired a JSAR a couple of days ago. A walk-in at a friend's local gun shop. The serial is 5637, no prefix. I would appreciate help with any information regarding shipping and part numbers, if available. Thanking you in advance. Doug

Here is the data on JSAR #5637

Received from Cranston Arms 2/20/42

Stock #2

BBl #5987E

Hammer block #7166

Hammer #9320

Bolt #8041

Locking cam #6987

Firing pin #A3575

Extractor #4803

Magazine #8904

Transferred to Netherlands Purchasing Commission 2/23/42

Let us know if anything matches.

Brian.....Thank you for providing the information so quickly!

What does it mean or how does it affect the value of the rifle if the parts do not match the numbers in the records?

I'm new to Johnson's so I would appreciate information to understand how the (additional)"mismatched" parts affect the gun in the eyes of a collector?

Thanks again.

Doug

Doug

Welcome to the site

I will try and answer some of your questions.

First, let me direct you to the following site http://johnsonautomatics.com/

If you have not already been there, please visit the site, and read what information is available. While there are some broken links in the pages, the site is highly informational.

If you have not purchased one, I highly recommend the book "Johnson Rifles and Machine Guns" by Bruce N. Canfield with Robert L. Lamoreaux and Edward R. Johnson

Another recommended item is the video produced by Joseph Scott. You can obtain a copy from him by contacting Joe through the link on this message board.