metrotps

Early Johnson Found

19 posts in this topic

I am a member on Gunboards forum and this rifle was posted on it by a new member. I have posted an invite for this new Johnson owner to join us here. Here are the pic's posted of the rifle. S/N is 2096 per the post.

post-414-127004712243_thumb.jpg

post-414-127004713703_thumb.jpg

post-414-127004716275_thumb.jpg

post-414-127004718498_thumb.jpg

post-414-127004720066_thumb.jpg

I am a member on Gunboards forum and this rifle was posted on it by a new member. I have posted an invite for this new Johnson owner to join us here. Here are the pic's posted of the rifle. S/N is 2096 per the post.

Hi thanks for the invite

im very new to collecting

my dad just gave me this johnson which i have bin looking at in his basement for the last 30 years

he also gave me a mint 37 brazilian any info on the johnson is very much apreciated

thankspost-718-12700684317_thumb.jpgpost-718-127006847673_thumb.jpgpost-718-127006852699_thumb.jpgpost-718-127006857811_thumb.jpgpost-718-127006860039_thumb.jpgpost-718-127006863479_thumb.jpg

While I am not the gun expert that many others on this forum are, it is evident to me that this rifle stock has had seen some heavy work (sanding,refinishing)

...and while it has a "low" no prefix receiver number, one only has to read "the book" to know that there was not any sequential numbering used during assembly, so a 9xxx rifle could well have been assembled before a 2xxx rifle....

...that being said....any JSAR is better than no JSAR at all...the proverbial "bird in the hand worth two in the bush" applies

While I am not the gun expert that many others on this forum are, it is evident to me that this rifle stock has had seen some heavy work (sanding,refinishing)

...and while it has a "low" no prefix receiver number, one only has to read "the book" to know that there was not any sequential numbering used during assembly, so a 9xxx rifle could well have been assembled before a 2xxx rifle....