Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ridge Runner

Help! I found an incomplete Johnson for $2000

5 posts in this topic

I found a Johnson Automatic rifle at a local gun store for $2000. I have never seen one in person before and am not that familar with them. Is this the real deal and worth fixing?

Serial number is B2490 and the bolt is B4964.

Is says on the receiver "Johnson Automatics" Model of 1941 Made in Providence, R.I., U.S.A. It also says, "Cal 30-06 Semi-auto."

On the rear of the receiver, there is an upside down triangle with a star above it. In the triangle it states Cranston Arms Co.

The stock has been cut down on it and a rubber butt pad installed. There is no rear sling swivel and no bayonet lug. There is also no front sight guards. Other than that, the rifle appears to be in great shape.

Is this the real deal? Is it worth $2000? Can I even get parts to restore it?

Any information or help would be appreciated. I am a newbie and never thought I would ever see or find one of these.

Ridge,

I'd say if you want it, go for it! It sounds to me like the beginings of a great shooter. Guarantee when you go to the range you will have a crowd around the first time you light this thing off. These rifles will only increase in value. Parts can still be found around the net and from Joe Scott. With prices upward near 5-6K or higher for an original. 2K is not a bad price for a starter JR. Go with cash sometimes a dealer may come down (for cash) in their selling price depending on what he took it in for.

Before you fire this weapon I would take it to a reliable gunsmith for a check out. This way it will be safe to fire unless you can do this your self. Another suggestion is to pick up "The Book" and get your self educated on the Johnson. There is a wealth of knowledge in this book. There are a number of great guys associated with this site who can help you (including myself) with your JR.

Good Luck

Walt B)